Add to Google

Roche finishes 19th at Tour de Suisse

Posted 20 June 2010

Nicolas Roche finished 51st in the final time trial stage at the Tour de Suisse where Tony Martin was fastest and Frank Schleck produced a big surprise to win overall.

Roche (AG2R La Mondiale) posted a time of 34:58 over the 26.9 kilometre course which was 2:37 off Martin’s winning time of 32:21.

Race leader Robert Gesink’s poor time trialing ability let him down with the Rabobank rider finishing 40th on the stage a full 2.19 down on Martin. 

Schleck fared much better coming within 1:14 of the German to seize the race lead on the final day having started the stage fourth in the GC just 38 seconds down.

Lance Armstrong’s bid to win the race also fell short and the Radioshack rider had to settle for second overall having lost by 12 seconds after finishing the stage just five seconds quicker than Schleck.

Thor Hushovd (Cervelo Test Team) set the day’s early benchmark with a time of 33:43 before Cancellara bolted home with a time of 32:38 which stood for well over an  hour.

Martin avenged his defeat in the prologue with a blistering pace over the course and the gap this time round was a full 17 seconds which proved to be unbeatable.

Roche’s time seen him drop one place to 19th in the GC but the Irishman will be pleased with his overall performance finishing 4:36 down on race winner Schleck and having put his recent hamstring injury behind him.


Stage 9: Liestal-Liestal, ITT, 26.9 kms.

1.  Tony Martin (HTC-Columbia) 32 minutes, 21 seconds
2.  Fabian Cancellara (Saxo Bank) at 0:00:17
3.  David Zabriskie (Garmin-Transitions) at 0:00:29
4.  Gustav Erik Larsson (Saxo Bank) at  0:00:48
5.  Levi Leipheimer (Radioshack)
6.  Andreas Klöden (Radioshack) at 0:00:52
7.  Jakob Fuglsang (Saxo Bank)
8.  Maxime Monfort (HTC-Columbia) at 0:00:57
9.  Wouter Poels (Vacansoleil) at 0:01:02
10. Stijn Devolder (Quick Step) at 0:01:07

51. Nicolas Roche (AG2R La Mondiale) at 2 minutes, 37 seconds

Final general classification:

1.  Fränk Schleck (Saxo Bank) 35 hours, 02 minutes, 00 seconds
2.  Lance Armstrong (Radioshack) at 0:00:12
3.  Jakob Fuglsang (Saxo Bank) at 0:00:17
4.  Steve Morabito (BMC Racing) at 0:00:23
5.  Robert Gesink (Rabobank) at 0:00:27
6.  Tony Martin (HTC-Columbia)
7.  Rigoberto Uran (Caisse d'Epargne) at 0:00:33
8.  Andreas Klöden (Radioshack) at 0:00:48
9.  Joaquin Rodriguez Oliver (Katusha) at 0:01:09
10. Levi Leipheimer (Radioshack) at 0:01:14

19. Nicolas Roche (AG2R La Mondiale) at 4 minutes, 36 seconds

News Archive

More News HeadlinesLatest

McCann best placed in Olympic road race

David McCann was the best placed Irish rider in...

Nicolas Roche almost pulled off an incredible...

Roche drops valuable time in GC battle

Nicolas Roche’s hopes of breaking back into the...

Roche drops valuable time in GC battle

Nicolas Roche’s hopes of breaking back into the...

Martin 7th on stage as Roche closes on Tour’s top ten

Dan Martin has taken seventh place on the...

Roche 13th in Tour GC amid reports of course sabotage

Nicolas Roche remains 13th overall in the Tour de...

Roche 14th as David Millar salvages Garmin-Sharp’s Tour

Nicolas Roche finished strongly on the longest...

Roche slips as Martin comes up short in break

Nicolas Roche has dropped out of the top ten at...

On form Nicolas Roche climbs to ninth in Tour de France GC

Nicolas Roche has climbed one place to ninth...

© McClure Media and PR