Add to Google

Roche stays close to Vuelta top ten

Posted 03 September 2010

Alessandro Petacchi picked up where he left off at the Tour de France by winning stage seven of the Vuelta á Espana while Nicholas Roche retained his 11th place overall.

Petacchi (Lampre Farnese Vini) out sprinted Mark Cavendish (HTC Columbia) with Juan Jose Haedo (Saxo Bank) taking third place.

Roche (AG2R La Mondiale) finished 52nd in the main bunch while Deignan (Cervelo Test Team) lost 1:02 in the high speed run into the finish in Orihuela.

The stage was dominated by a four man break away comprising Dominik Roels (Milram), Martin Pedersen (Footon-Servetto), Vladimir Isaichev (Xacobeo Galicia) and Jorge Montenegro (Andalucia CajaSur).

The quartet came together after just two kilometre establishing a lead of almost nine minutes before the sprinters’ teams of HTC Columbia, Garmin Tranistions, Francaise des Jeux and Lampre-Farnese Vini called time.

They were captured with five kilometres to go setting the scene for a tremendously fast finish which was dominated by Pettachi’s Lampre-Farnese Vini team.

Roche lies 58 seconds behind race leader Philippe Gilbert (Omega Pharma Lotto) heading into this weekend’s two mountain stages.

Deignan starts stage eight to Xorret de Cati with an overall deficit of 54:15 which will suit his prospects of being allowed to go away in the day’s break should he decide to give it a go.


Vuelta a Espana

Stage 7: Murcia – Orihuela, 187 kilometres

1.  Alessandro Petacchi (Ita) Lampre-Farnese Vini 4 hours, 36 minutes, 12 seconds
2. Mark Cavendish (GBr) Team HTC-Columbia             
3. Juan-Jose Haedo (Arg) Team Saxo Bank             
4.  Andreas Stauff (Ger) Quick Step             
5.  Tyler Farrar (USA) Garmin-Transitions             
6.  Denis Galimzyanov (Rus) Team Katusha             
7.  Robert Förster (Ger) Team Milram             
8.  Sébastien Hinault (Fra) Ag2R-La Mondiale             
9.  Daniele Bennati (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo             
10. Wouter Weylandt (Bel) Quick Step

52. Nicolas Roche (AG2R La Mondiale) – same time
160. Philip Deignan (Cervelo Test Team) at 1 minute, 02 seconds

General classification after stage 7:

1.  Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto 27 hours,12 minutes, 38 seconds     
2. Igor Anton (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi 0:00:10        
3.  Joaquin Rodriguez (Spa) Team Katusha             
4.  Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo 0:00:12        
5.  Peter Velits (Svk) Team HTC-Columbia 0:00:16        
6.  Tejay Van Garderen (USA) Team HTC-Columbia 0:00:29 
7. Xavier Tondon (Spa) Cervelo Test Team 0:00:49        
7.  Frank Schleck (Lux) Team Saxo Bank 0:00:50        
8.  Ruben Plaza (Spa) Caisse d’Epargne 0:00:54        
10.  Ezequiel Mosquera (Spa) Xacobeo Galicia 0:00:55        

11. Nicolas Roche (Irl) AG2R La Mondiale at 58 seconds
157. Philip Deignan (Irl) Cervelo Test Team at  54 minutes, 15 seconds

News Archive

More News HeadlinesLatest

McCann best placed in Olympic road race

David McCann was the best placed Irish rider in...

Nicolas Roche almost pulled off an incredible...

Roche drops valuable time in GC battle

Nicolas Roche’s hopes of breaking back into the...

Roche drops valuable time in GC battle

Nicolas Roche’s hopes of breaking back into the...

Martin 7th on stage as Roche closes on Tour’s top ten

Dan Martin has taken seventh place on the...

Roche 13th in Tour GC amid reports of course sabotage

Nicolas Roche remains 13th overall in the Tour de...

Roche 14th as David Millar salvages Garmin-Sharp’s Tour

Nicolas Roche finished strongly on the longest...

Roche slips as Martin comes up short in break

Nicolas Roche has dropped out of the top ten at...

On form Nicolas Roche climbs to ninth in Tour de France GC

Nicolas Roche has climbed one place to ninth...

© McClure Media and PR