Add to Google

McNally takes fifth in Swansea

Posted 13 September 2010

An Post Sean Kelly rider Mark McNally came close to a stage win on the third day of the Tour of Britain finishing seconds behind winner Michael Albasini whose solo victory moved him into the race lead.

McNally was part of a nine man break which came together following an initial attack by Cameron Meyer (Garmin Transitions) and Pim Ligthart (Vacansoleil) just 48 kilometres after the start in Newtown.

He was also joined by Simon Richardson (Sigma Sport Specialised), Elia Favili (ISD-Neri), Ian Bibby (Motorpoint Marshalls Pasta), Stin Neirynck (Topsport Vlaanderen), Evan Oliphant (Endura Racing) and Albert Timmer (Skil-Shimano).

Heavy fog and rain made the going hard but the group extended its lead to over three and a half minutes within twenty kilometres despite the efforts of the HTC-Columbia team to cut the deficit ahead of the climb of Black Mountain which topped out just 37 kilometres from the finish in Swansea.

Meyer used the climb to strike out alone opening a gap of 1’40” over the top as the pace over the steep gradient split the peloton into a number of groups.

The decisive move of the day took place on the descent off the mountain as HTC Columbia riders Albasini and Tony Martin broke clear of the bunch. The duo bridged to the break where Martin continued to play a leading role in the chase to bring Meyer back.

Meyer’s efforts over Black Mountain caught up with him on the outskirts of the city where the leaders regrouped ahead of the finishing circuit and the punishing climb of Constitution Hill.

Albasini proved strongest on the ascent using it to pull clear for a solo victory with McNally producing an impressive ride to finish 5th on the stage just 28 seconds behind the new race leader.

Albasini, who recorded the first Swiss win in the race, applauded his team for their work during the stage and said that their goal now was to retain the race lead.

“From the start I felt very good. Our tactic was to make the race fast and also hard so that we could try something on the longer climb. On Black Mountain my team made good pace and then together with the riders from Vacansoleil we rode really hard up there.

“It was a small group at the top, and then on the downhill it was wet and fast. Tony Martin and I arrived full gas, so we made a small gap and went away. Tony did a really big job, it was just me and him to ride, so it was really hard. In the last ten kilometres I did maybe two turns, the rest was always Tony pulling so I could recover a little bit for the steep climb and cobblestones.

“The goal now is to bring the jersey to London. If you look at the race today you saw a really strong HTC-Columbia team. We were always attacking and even on the climb the sprinters were making tempo. With teammates like Martin, Pinotti, Grabsch, Greipel and Mark Renshaw I’m sure we can do it,” he said.


2010 Tour of Britain

Stage 3: Newtown - Swansea, 149.7 kilometres

1. Michael Albasini (Swi) Team HTC-Columbia 3:40:37  
2. Ian Bibby (GBr) Motorpoint-Marshalls Pasta 0:00:08  
3. Stijn Neirynck (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Mercator    
4. Cameron Meyer (Aus) Garmin-Transitions 0:00:21  
5. Mark Mcnally (GBr) An Post-Sean Kelly 0:00:28  
6. Simon Richardson (GBr) Sigma Sport-Specialized 0:00:31  
7. Richie Porte (Aus) Team Saxo Bank 0:01:15  
8. Jack Bauer (NZl) Endura Racing 0:01:16  
9. Tony Martin (Ger) Team HTC-Columbia 0:01:18  
10. Johnny Hoogerland (Ned) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team 0:01:24

76. Dan Martin (Irl) Garmin Transitions at 11 minutes, 50 seconds

An Post Sean Kelly Team:

5. Mark McNally (Gbr) AN Post Sean Kelly at 28 seconds
38. Matt Brammeier (Irl) An Post Sean Kelly at 2 minutes, 45 seconds
43. Philip Lavery (Irl) AN Post Sean Kelly at 2 minutes, 54 seconds
66. Ronan McLoughlin (Irl) An Post Sean Kelly at 5 minutes, 25 seconds
86. Pieter Ghyllebert (Bel) An Post Sean Kelly at 13 minutes
97. Mark Cassidy (Irl) An Post Sean Kelly at 23 minutes, 30 seconds

General classification after stage 3:

1. Michael Albasini (Swi) Team HTC-Columbia 10:57:01  
2. Greg Henderson (NZl) Sky Professional Cycling Team 0:01:26  
3. Richie Porte (Aus) Team Saxo Bank 0:01:28  
4. Borut Bozic (Slo) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team 0:01:41  
5. Johnny Hoogerland (Ned) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team 0:01:46  
6. Michael Golas (Pol) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team 0:02:08  
7. Patrick Sinkewitz (Ger) ISD-Neri Giambenini    
8. Travis Meyer (Aus) Garmin - Transitions 0:02:10  
9. Christian Meier (Can) Garmin-Transitions    
10. Robert Partridge (GBr) Endura Racing 0:02:13  

76. Dan Martin (Irl) Garmin Transitions at 22 minutes, 58 seconds

An Post Sean Kelly Team:
20. Mark Mcnally (GBr) An Post-Sean Kelly at 11 minutes,34 seconds  
43. Philip Lavery (Irl) An Post-Sean Kelly at 13 minutes,53seconds  
45. Matt Brammeier (Irl) An Post-Sean Kelly at s.t.  
64. Ronan Mclaughlin (Irl) An Post-Sean Kelly 16 minutes, 24 seconds  
87. Pieter Ghyllebert (Bel) An Post-Sean Kely at 24 minutes, 33 seconds
96. Mark Cassidy (Irl) An Post-Sean Kelly 34 minutes,53 seconds  

News Archive

More News HeadlinesLatest

McCann best placed in Olympic road race

David McCann was the best placed Irish rider in...

Nicolas Roche almost pulled off an incredible...

Roche drops valuable time in GC battle

Nicolas Roche’s hopes of breaking back into the...

Roche drops valuable time in GC battle

Nicolas Roche’s hopes of breaking back into the...

Martin 7th on stage as Roche closes on Tour’s top ten

Dan Martin has taken seventh place on the...

Roche 13th in Tour GC amid reports of course sabotage

Nicolas Roche remains 13th overall in the Tour de...

Roche 14th as David Millar salvages Garmin-Sharp’s Tour

Nicolas Roche finished strongly on the longest...

Roche slips as Martin comes up short in break

Nicolas Roche has dropped out of the top ten at...

On form Nicolas Roche climbs to ninth in Tour de France GC

Nicolas Roche has climbed one place to ninth...

© McClure Media and PR