Add to Google

Deignan steady as Cav triumphs in Teramo

Posted 17 May 2011


Mark Cavendish reaffirmed his status as the fastest man in the peloton by sprinting to victory on stage 10 of the Giro d’Italia in Teramo where Philip Deignan finished as part of the main field.
The sprint finish was all but a formality once the peloton pulled back breakaway riders Yuriy Krivtsov (AG2R La Mondiale), Fumiuki Beppu (Radioshack) and Pierre Cazaux (Euskaltel-Euskadi).
The trio escaped early in the short 156 kilometre flat stage from Termoli building a maximum lead of 6’20”. The peloton cut that to 3’33” by the time Beppu claimed the day’s only intermediate sprint in Pescara with 60 kilometres to go.
It was all over with 11 kilometres to go as the Saxo Bank-Sungard team of race leader Alberto Contador jostled amid the formations of the lead out trains to protect the Spaniard on the technical approach to the finish.
David Millar (Garmin Transitions) made the most of the reluctance of either of the big sprint teams to take up the running inside the closing three kilometres to launch a trademark attack.
He was unable to hold back the sprint with 1,200 metres to go as the Moviestar team of Francisco Ventoso and Quickstep sprinters Gerard Ciolek and Francesco Chicchi led the charge for the line.
Cavendish (HTC-Highroad) was left to his own devices as the finish line loomed and he positioned himself perfectly to lunge from Petacchi’s wheel leaving the Italian to finish third behind Ventoso.
Deignan (Radioshack) finished 138th as part to the bunch moving up one place to 95th in GC heading into stage 11 which features four category four climbs over the 160 kilometres from Tortoreto Lido to Castefidardo.
Contador continues to lead the race overall with a gap of 59 seconds to Kanstantsin Sivtsov (HTC-Highroad) while Christophe Le Mevel (Garmin Cervelo) lies third with a deficit of 1’19”.
2011 Giro d’Italia
1.  Mark Cavendish (GBr) HTC-Highroad 4 hours, 00 minutes, 49 seconds
2.  Francisco José Ventoso Alberdi (Spa) Movistar Team
3.  Alessandro Petacchi (Ita) Lampre - ISD
4.  Roberto Ferrari (Ita) Androni Giocattoli
5.  Davide Appollonio (Ita) Sky Procycling
6.  Francesco Chicchi (Ita) Quickstep Cycling Team
7.  Klaas Lodewyck (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto
8.  Sacha Modolo (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox
9.  Alexander Kristoff (Nor) BMC Racing Team
10.  Oscar Gatto (Ita) Farnese Vini - Neri Sottoli
138. Philip Deignan (Irl) Team Radioshack at same time
General classification after stage 10:
1.  Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Saxo Bank Sungard 37:04:40
2.  Kanstantsin Sivtsov (Blr) HTC-Highroad at 0:00:59
3.  Christophe Le Mevel (Fra) Team Garmin-Cervelo at 0:01:19
4.  Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale at 0:01:21
5.  Michele Scarponi (Ita) Lampre – ISD at 0:01:28
6.  David Arroyo Duran (Spa) Movistar Team at 0:01:37
7.  Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Pro Team Astana at 0:01:41
8.  Jose Rodolfo Serpa Perez (Col) Androni Giocattoli at 0:01:47
9.  Dario Cataldo (Ita) Quickstep Cycling Team at 0:02:21
10. Matteo Carrara (Ita) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team
95. Philip Deignan (Irl) Team Radioshack at 46 minutes, 14 seconds

News Archive

More News HeadlinesLatest

McCann best placed in Olympic road race

David McCann was the best placed Irish rider in...

Nicolas Roche almost pulled off an incredible...

Roche drops valuable time in GC battle

Nicolas Roche’s hopes of breaking back into the...

Roche drops valuable time in GC battle

Nicolas Roche’s hopes of breaking back into the...

Martin 7th on stage as Roche closes on Tour’s top ten

Dan Martin has taken seventh place on the...

Roche 13th in Tour GC amid reports of course sabotage

Nicolas Roche remains 13th overall in the Tour de...

Roche 14th as David Millar salvages Garmin-Sharp’s Tour

Nicolas Roche finished strongly on the longest...

Roche slips as Martin comes up short in break

Nicolas Roche has dropped out of the top ten at...

On form Nicolas Roche climbs to ninth in Tour de France GC

Nicolas Roche has climbed one place to ninth...

© McClure Media and PR