Add to Google

Deignan stage winning bid runs short

Posted 26 May 2011

Philip Deignan made another bid to pull off a stage win on stage 18 of the Giro d’Italia but was unable to stay with the breakaway he instigated from which Eros Capecchi triumphed for Liquigas-Cannondale.

The Radioshack rider ignited the race when he attacked on a small pave climb as it reached the cycling city of Bergamo just 63 kilometres from the finish of the 151 kilometre long stage from Morbegno to San Pellegrino Terme.

His efforts strung out the peloton but his small gap was snuffed out within a matter of kilometres as the peloton made its way towards the foothills of the second category Passo di Ganda, the day’s only climb.

Deignan continued to apply the pressure towards the head of the peloton with his contributions to the pace setting helping a group of 18 riders to pull clear with 53 kilometres remaining.

The Donegal man was joined by Capecchi, Carlos Sastre (Geox TMC), Bram Tankink (Rabobank), Alberto Losada (Katusha), Marco Pinotti (HTC-Highroad), Angel Vicioso (Androni Giocattoli), Oscar Gatto (Farnes Vini-Neri Sottoli), Luis Pasamontes (Moviestar), Jan Bakelants (Omega Pharma Lotto), Paolo Tiralongo (Astana), Gianluca Brambilla (Colnago CSF Inox), Dmitry Konzontchuk (Geox TMC) Matteo Carrara (Vacansoleil-DMC), Russel Downing (Team Sky) Saxo Bank-Sungard riders Daniel Navarro and Jesus Hernandez  and Quickstep riders Kevin Seeldrayers, Jerome Pineau and Dario Cataldo.

The group posed not threat to race leader Alberto Contador (Saxo Bank-Sungard) with Cataldo the closest to the Spaniard with an overall deficit of 16’03” and was permitted to establish a lead of over four minutes over the peloton.

Capecchi, Pinotti, Seeldrayers, Downing and Brambilla attacked into the climb with the injection of pace quickly splitting the leaders. Deignan was unable to bridge across and conceded over a minute to the group as they worked their way over the 7.3% average gradient.

The going also proved tough out front with Pinotti, Capecchi and Seeldrayers soon pulling clear. The had enough of a gap over the summit to ensure that they would decide the stage between them went on to establish a 7 minute lead over the peloton on the long descent to the finish.

Pinotti lead the trio through the final kilometre and opened the sprint with 300 metres to go only to be rounded by Capecchi who celebrated the win with Seeldrayers taking third.

Deignan placed 14th in the chasing group who came home 4’37” down. He moved to 50th in the overall GC and starts stage 19 to the summit finish in Macugnaga 1:17:32 behind Contador who continues to lead his closest rival Michele Scarponi (Lampre ISD) by 4’58”.


Stage 18: Morbegno – San Pellegrino Terme, 151 kilometres

1.  Eros Capecchi (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale 3:20:38    
2.  Marco Pinotti (Ita) HTC-Highroad             
3.  Kevin Seeldraeyers (Bel) Quickstep Cycling Team             
4.  Gianluca Brambilla (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox at 00:1:20             
5.  Paolo Tiralongo (Ita) Pro Team Astana              
6.  Dario Cataldo (Ita) Quickstep Cycling Team at 0:02:49             
7.  Alberto Losada Alguacil (Spa) Katusha Team at 0:03:46             
8.  Russell Downing (GBr) Sky Procycling at 4:34:00             
9. Oscar Gatto (Ita) Farnese Vini - Neri Sottoli             
10. Jan Bakelandts (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto

14. Philip Deignan (Irl) Team Radioshack at 4 minutes, 37 seconds

General classification after stage 18:

1.  Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Saxo Bank Sungard 71:45:09             
2.  Michele Scarponi (Ita) Lampre-ISD at 0:04:58        
3.  Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale at 0:05:45        
4.  John Gadret (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale at 0:07:35        
5.  Kanstantsin Sivtsov (Blr) HTC-Highroad at 0:09:12        
6.  José Rujano Guillen (Ven) Androni Giocattoli at 0:09:18        
7.  Mikel Nieve Ituralde (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi at 0:09:22        
8.  Denis Menchov (Rus) Geox-TMC at 0:09:38        
9.  Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Pro Team Astana at 0:09:47        
10. Joaquím Rodríguez Oliver (Spa) Katusha Team at 0:10:25

50. Philip Deignan (Irl) Team Radioshack at 1 hours, 17 minutes, 32 seconds

News Archive

More News HeadlinesLatest

McCann best placed in Olympic road race

David McCann was the best placed Irish rider in...

Nicolas Roche almost pulled off an incredible...

Roche drops valuable time in GC battle

Nicolas Roche’s hopes of breaking back into the...

Roche drops valuable time in GC battle

Nicolas Roche’s hopes of breaking back into the...

Martin 7th on stage as Roche closes on Tour’s top ten

Dan Martin has taken seventh place on the...

Roche 13th in Tour GC amid reports of course sabotage

Nicolas Roche remains 13th overall in the Tour de...

Roche 14th as David Millar salvages Garmin-Sharp’s Tour

Nicolas Roche finished strongly on the longest...

Roche slips as Martin comes up short in break

Nicolas Roche has dropped out of the top ten at...

On form Nicolas Roche climbs to ninth in Tour de France GC

Nicolas Roche has climbed one place to ninth...

© McClure Media and PR