Add to Google

Deignan moves to 11th in GC as tragedy overshadows Giro

Posted 09 May 2011


Cycling was in mourning after stage three of the Giro d’Italia with news of the tragic death of Belgian rider Wouter Weylandt who lost his life after a crash on the descent off the third category Passo del Bocco just 23 kilometres from the finish in Rapallo.
The 26 year old Leopard Trek rider was fatally injured in the crash which took place as the peloton closed in on a four-man break who had less than a minute’s lead over the summit of the climb.
The exact circumstances of the crash are as yet unknown but television cameras showed images of the Belgian unconscious at the scene and bleeding heavily from facial injuries. Television pictures also showed medical teams administering CPR.
Weylandt was airlifted to hospital after paramedics worked for almost half an hour to revive him. The stage meanwhile continued with the riders unaware of the tragedy that was unfolding. Weylandt’s death was announced shortly after the stage ended.
The tragedy overshadowed a fine win by Spaniard Angel Viciosco (Androni Giocatolli) who out-sprinted a five-man group which came together on the descent off the final climb of the Madonna delle Grazie inside the closing 10 kilometres of the 201 kilometre stage from Reggio Emilia.
The day’s early racing was dominated by a four-man break comprising Pavel Brutt (Katusha), Bart de Clercq (Omega Pharma Lotto), Davide Ricci Bitti (Farnese Vini) and Gianluca Brambilla (Colnago CSF Inox) who escaped after 40 kilometres.
The quartet built up a maximum lead of six minutes before the Saxo Bank-Sungard, Lampre-ISD and Garmin Cervelo teams combined to reduce it to just under two minutes heading on the Passo del Bocco with 40 kilometres to go.
The Liquigas-Cannondale team took charge of the race on the descent as the race favourites turned their attention to fourth category Madonna delle Grazie with the gap finally closed just 2.5 kilometres before the start to the climb.
Race leader Mark Cavendish (HTC-Highroad) was among the first to crack on 6.9% average climb following an early attack from Omega Pharma Lotto, Team Sky and Garmin-Cervelo teams.
Philip Deignan (Radioshack) lost some ground on the steeper 10% section of the climb but recovered well to stay in contact with the chase group over the summit as they pursued a four-man group comprising Vicioso, Christophe Le Mevel (Garmin-Cervelo), Pablo Lastras (Moviestar) and Daniel Moreno (Katusha).
The Donegal man worked his way back into the chase group on the rapid descent as the four leaders held a slender lead of 14 seconds with Cavendish fighting further behind to claw back the 1’12” that he had conceded on the climb.
David Millar (Garmin-Cervelo) made a bold and successful attempt to bridge to the leaders inside the closing four kilometres making contact just 2.5 kilometres from the finish in Rapallo to give the American outfit a numerical advantage.
They failed to capitalise on that at the finish with Vicioso making the most of the technical finish to duck inside the Briton through the final corner for the stage win. Millar’s second place came with the consolation of the race leader’s jersey and he will start a somber stage four with a 7 seconds lead over the Spaniard.
Deignan finished well in the chase group conceding just 21 seconds on the stage. His result saw him climb two places to 11th in the GC where he lies just 19 seconds behind Millar.
2011 Giro d’Italia
Stage 3: Reggio Emilia – Rapallo, 178 kilometres
1.  Angel Vicioso Arcos (Spa) Androni Giocattoli 3 hours, 57 minutes, 38 seconds
2.  David Millar (GBr) Team Garmin-Cervelo
3.  Pablo Lastras Garcia (Spa) Movistar Team
4.  Daniel Moreno Fernandez (Spa) Katusha Team
5.  Christophe Le Mevel (Fra) Garmin-Cervelo
6.  Bram Tankink (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team at 0:00:12
7. Jerome Pineau (Fra) Quickstep
8.  Sacha Modolo (Itl) Colnago-CSF Inox at 0:00:21 seconds
9.  Fabio Taborre (Itl) Astana
10. Matteo Montaguti (Itl) AG2R La Mondiale
114. Philip Deignan (Irl) Radioshack at 21 seconds
General classification after stage 3:
1.  David Millar (GBr) Team Garmin-Cervelo 10 hours, 04 minutes, 29 seconds
2.  Angel Vicioso Arcos (Spa) Androni Giocattoli  at 0:00:07 seconds
3.  Kanstantsin Sivtsov (Blr) HTC-Highroad at 0:00:09 seconds
4.  Marco Pinotti (Ita) HTC-Highroad
5.  Craig Lewis (USA) HTC-Highroad
6.  Christophe Le Mevel (Fra) Team Garmin-Cervelo at 0:00:12 seconds
7.  Alessandro Petacchi (Itl) Lampre-ISD at 0:00:13 seconds
8.  Pablo Lastras Garcia (Esp) Moviestar Team at 0:00:18 seconds
9.  Yaroslav Popovych (Ukr) Team Radioshack at 0:00:19 seconds
10. Tiago Machado (Por) Team Radioshack
11. Philip Deignan (Irl) Team Radioshack at 19 seconds

News Archive

More News HeadlinesLatest

McCann best placed in Olympic road race

David McCann was the best placed Irish rider in...

Nicolas Roche almost pulled off an incredible...

Roche drops valuable time in GC battle

Nicolas Roche’s hopes of breaking back into the...

Roche drops valuable time in GC battle

Nicolas Roche’s hopes of breaking back into the...

Martin 7th on stage as Roche closes on Tour’s top ten

Dan Martin has taken seventh place on the...

Roche 13th in Tour GC amid reports of course sabotage

Nicolas Roche remains 13th overall in the Tour de...

Roche 14th as David Millar salvages Garmin-Sharp’s Tour

Nicolas Roche finished strongly on the longest...

Roche slips as Martin comes up short in break

Nicolas Roche has dropped out of the top ten at...

On form Nicolas Roche climbs to ninth in Tour de France GC

Nicolas Roche has climbed one place to ninth...

© McClure Media and PR