Add to Google

Deignan off to flying start at Giro

Posted 07 May 2011

Philip Deignan’s Radioshack team came within 10 seconds of winning the Giro d’Italia opening team time trial in Turin with their surprise performance over the 19.3 kilometre course leaving the Donegal man 11th in the overall GC.

The American team finished second to HTC-Highroad who were led home by Marco Pinotti with their winning time of 20’59” leaving the Italian to pull on the first maglia rosa of this year’s race.

Omega Pharma Lotto set the early benchmark as the first team on the road with a surprise time of 21’21”. The Rabobank, Team Sky and Saxo Bank-Sungard teams failed to better that before the HTC-Columbia team stamped their authority on the stage.

Garmin-Cervelo’s hopes of stealing their thunder evaporated with their time of 21’23” which was a full 24 seconds slower. That time placed them third overall but they were soon to be dislodged by the Liquigas-Cannondale team who came home two seconds faster.

Deignan meanwhile was pulling his weight as part of the Radioshack team which had been reduced to seven riders after Ivan Rovny was forced to change bike and Manuel Cardoso lost contact with the well drilled team.

They reached the 9.1 kilometre intermediate time-check in a time of 9’56” which was just eight seconds slower than the fastest time of 9’48” set by the full-strength HTC Columbia.

Deignan looked sharp in the line up where he helped to maintain momentum over the closing kilometres. Team leader Tiago Machado led the team across the finish line with Deignan placing sixth among the seven riders who posted a finishing time of 21’09”.

That was sufficient to leave him knocking on the door of a place in the top ten overall. He will start the 242 kilometre flat stage two from Alba to Parma 11th in the GC just 10 seconds behind Pinotti.


Giro d’Italia

Venaria Reale – Turin, 19.3 kilometres, TTT

1.  HTC-Highroad 0:20:59        
2.  Team RadioShack at 0:00:10        
3.  Liquigas-Cannondale at0:00:22        
4.  Omega Pharma-Lotto             
5.  Team Garmin-Cervelo at 0:00:24        
6.  Lampre-ISD             
7.  Rabobank Cycling Team at 0:00:26        
8.  Saxo Bank Sungard at 0:00:30        
9.  Sky Procycling at 0:00:37        
10.  Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team   

General classification after stage 1:

1.  Marco Pinotti (Ita) HTC-Highroad    0:20:59        
2.  Lars Ytting Bak (Den) HTC-Highroad             
3.  Kanstantsin Sivtsov (Blr) HTC-Highroad             
4.  Mark Cavendish (Gbr) HTC-Highroad             
5.  Craig Lewis (USA) HTC-Highroad             
6.  Robbie McEwen (Aus) Team RadioShack at 0:00:10        
7.  Tiago Machado (Por) Team RadioShack             
8.  Fumiyuki Beppu (Jpn) Team RadioShack             
9.  Bjorn Selander (USA) Team RadioShack             
10. Robert Hunter (RSA) Team RadioShack
11. Philip Deignan (Irl) Team RadioShack at 10 seconds

News Archive

More News HeadlinesLatest

McCann best placed in Olympic road race

David McCann was the best placed Irish rider in...

Nicolas Roche almost pulled off an incredible...

Roche drops valuable time in GC battle

Nicolas Roche’s hopes of breaking back into the...

Roche drops valuable time in GC battle

Nicolas Roche’s hopes of breaking back into the...

Martin 7th on stage as Roche closes on Tour’s top ten

Dan Martin has taken seventh place on the...

Roche 13th in Tour GC amid reports of course sabotage

Nicolas Roche remains 13th overall in the Tour de...

Roche 14th as David Millar salvages Garmin-Sharp’s Tour

Nicolas Roche finished strongly on the longest...

Roche slips as Martin comes up short in break

Nicolas Roche has dropped out of the top ten at...

On form Nicolas Roche climbs to ninth in Tour de France GC

Nicolas Roche has climbed one place to ninth...

© McClure Media and PR