Add to Google

Deignan 41st on mountain TT as Contador prevails

Posted 24 May 2011

Giro d’Italia leader Alberto Contador struck another psychological blow to his opponents by claiming victory in the 12.7 kilometre mountain time trial where Philip Deignan finished 41st.

The Spaniard clocked a time of 28:55 to dislodge Vincenzo Nibali (Liquigas- Cannondale) from the top of the leaderboard and to win the stage by a 34 seconds winning margin.
Stefano Garzelli (Aqua & Sapone) made a valiant effort to repeat his success of winning last year’s Plan de Corones mountain time trial when he stopped the clock at 29’41”.
Jose Rujano (Androni Giocattoli) topped that by seven seconds before Michele Scarponi (Lampre-ISD) shaved off another second to go top. 
Contador looked a little more sluggish than normal in the early part of the course and his performance suggested that Nibali might hold out for the stage win after the Italian posted a time of 29’29”.
The Saxo Bank-Sungard rider danced on the pedals over the final kilometre to consolidate his race lead with the stage win putting him 4’58” ahead of Scarponi in the overall GC with Nibali third at 5’45”.
Deignan (Radioshack) finished well up the finishing order and with some riders losing as much as five and six minutes his deficit of 2’30” was on a par or close to some other big names in the race.
The Donegal man is now 55th in the overall GC and starts the stage 17 mountain stage from Feltre to Sondrio with an overall deficit of 1:16:21 to Contador who shows no signs of relinquishing his hold on the maglia rosa.
2011 Giro d’Italia
Stage 16: Belluno – Nevegal, 12.7 kilometres ITT
1.  Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Saxo Bank Sungard 0:28:55
2.  Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale at 0:00:34
3.  Michele Scarponi (Ita) Lampre-ISD at 0:00:38
4.  José Rujano Guillen (Ven) Androni Giocattoli at 0:00:39
5.  Stefano Garzelli (Ita) Acqua & Sapone at 0:00:46
6.  Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Pro Team Astana at 0:00:49
7.  Denis Menchov (Rus) Geox-TMC at 0:00:52
8.  Marco Pinotti (Ita) HTC-Highroad at 0:00:58
9.  Branislau Samoilau (Blr) Movistar Team at 0:00:59
10. Vladimir Miholjevic (Cro) Acqua & Sapone at 0:01:04
41. Philip Deignan (Irl) Team Radioshack at 2 minutes, 30 seconds
General classification after stage 16:
1.  Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Saxo Bank Sungard 62:43:37
2.  Michele Scarponi (Ita) Lampre-ISD at 0:04:58
3.  Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale at 0:05:45
4.  John Gadret (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale at 0:07:35
5.  José Rujano Guillen (Ven) Androni Giocattoli at 0:09:18
6.  Mikel Nieve Ituralde (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi at 0:09:22
7.  Denis Menchov (Rus) Geox-TMC at 0:09:38
8.  Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Pro Team Astana at 0:09:47
9.  Joaquin Rodriguez Oliver (Spa) Katusha Team at 0:10:25
10. Igor Anton Hernandez (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi at 0:10:58
55. Philip Deignan (Irl) Team Radioshack at 1 hours, 16 minutes, 21 seconds

News Archive

More News HeadlinesLatest

McCann best placed in Olympic road race

David McCann was the best placed Irish rider in...

Nicolas Roche almost pulled off an incredible...

Roche drops valuable time in GC battle

Nicolas Roche’s hopes of breaking back into the...

Roche drops valuable time in GC battle

Nicolas Roche’s hopes of breaking back into the...

Martin 7th on stage as Roche closes on Tour’s top ten

Dan Martin has taken seventh place on the...

Roche 13th in Tour GC amid reports of course sabotage

Nicolas Roche remains 13th overall in the Tour de...

Roche 14th as David Millar salvages Garmin-Sharp’s Tour

Nicolas Roche finished strongly on the longest...

Roche slips as Martin comes up short in break

Nicolas Roche has dropped out of the top ten at...

On form Nicolas Roche climbs to ninth in Tour de France GC

Nicolas Roche has climbed one place to ninth...

© McClure Media and PR