Add to Google

Deignan 23rd in Milan TT as Contador wins Giro

Posted 29 May 2011

Philip Deignan finished the Giro d’Italia with a strong performance in the closing time trial in Milan where he placed 23rd behind David Millar while Alberto Contador took third place to celebrate victory overall.

Millar (Garmin Cervelo) clocked a finishing time of 30:13 over the 26 kilometre circuit which was enough to unseat Alex Rasmussen (HTC-Highroad) who had set the early benchmark at 30’20”.

Contador (Saxo Bank Sungard) set a very fast pace over the early part of the course but took time to celebrate his overall win as he neared the finish. His finishing time was just 36 seconds off Millar.

Deignan (Team Radioshack) posted a time of 31’49” which left him 23rd on the stage. He completed the race 47th in the GC at 1:47:02 to Contador.

Michele Scarponi (Lampre-ISD) held off the TT challenge from Vinenzo Nibali (Liquigas-Cannondale) to secure second place overall with 6’10”separating him from Contador and another 46 seconds to the Italian.


2011 Giro d’Italia

Stage 21: Milan – Milan, 26 kilometres

1 David Millar (GBr) Team Garmin-Cervelo 0:30:13  
2 Alex Rasmussen (Den) HTC-Highroad at 0:00:07  
3 Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Saxo Bank Sungard at 0:00:36  
4 Richie Porte (Aus) Saxo Bank Sungard at 0:00:43  
5 Yaroslav Popovych (Ukr) Team RadioShack at 0:00:55  
6 Jos Van Emden (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team at 0:01:02  
7 Cameron Meyer (Aus) Team Garmin-Cervelo at 0:01:04  
8 Patrick Gretsch (Ger) HTC-Highroad at 0:01:08  
9 Tiago Machado (Por) Team RadioShack at 0:01:12  
10 Kanstantsin Sivtsov (Blr) HTC-Highroad at 0:01:16

23. Philip Deignan (Irl) Team Radioshack at 1 minute, 36 seconds

Final general classification:

1 Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Saxo Bank Sungard 84:05:14  
2 Michele Scarponi (Ita) Lampre - ISD at 0:06:10  
3 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale at 0:06:56  
4 John Gadret (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale at 0:10:04  
5 Joaquím Rodríguez Oliver (Spa) Katusha Team at 0:11:05  
6 Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Pro Team Astana at 0:11:28  
7 José Rujano Guillen (Ven) Androni Giocattoli at 0:12:12  
8 Denis Menchov (Rus) Geox-TMC at 0:12:18  
9 Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team at 0:13:51  
10 Kanstantsin Sivtsov (Blr) HTC-Highroad at 0:14:10

47. Philip Deignan (Irl) Team Radioshack at 1 hour, 47 minutes, 02 seconds

News Archive

More News HeadlinesLatest

McCann best placed in Olympic road race

David McCann was the best placed Irish rider in...

Nicolas Roche almost pulled off an incredible...

Roche drops valuable time in GC battle

Nicolas Roche’s hopes of breaking back into the...

Roche drops valuable time in GC battle

Nicolas Roche’s hopes of breaking back into the...

Martin 7th on stage as Roche closes on Tour’s top ten

Dan Martin has taken seventh place on the...

Roche 13th in Tour GC amid reports of course sabotage

Nicolas Roche remains 13th overall in the Tour de...

Roche 14th as David Millar salvages Garmin-Sharp’s Tour

Nicolas Roche finished strongly on the longest...

Roche slips as Martin comes up short in break

Nicolas Roche has dropped out of the top ten at...

On form Nicolas Roche climbs to ninth in Tour de France GC

Nicolas Roche has climbed one place to ninth...

© McClure Media and PR