Add to Google

Cav takes second win with Deignan in tow

Posted 19 May 2011


Stage 12 of the Giro d’Italia ran very much to script as Mark Cavendish rounded off his participation in the race with a second stage win in Ravenna with Philip Deignan in the main bunch.
The 171 kilometre flat stage from Castefidardo to Ravenna was tailor made for a bunch sprint and so it proved despite a four-man break holding sway for all but the final 11 kilometres.
Michal Golas (Vacansoleil), Davide Ricci Bitti (Farnese Vini – Neri Sottoli), Miguel Minguez Ayala (Euskaltel-Euskadi) and Stef Clement (Rabobank) attacked from the gun and were four minutes up after 18 kilometres.
Cavendish’s HTC-Highroad team moved quickly to stop the lead growing and contained the quartet at just under three minutes for much of the day.  Their lead fell to one minute as the race approached the outskirts of Ravenna and the catch followed soon after.
The HTC-Highroad team continued to dominate the head of the race despite the presence of the Omega Pharma Lotto team and Saxo Bank-Sungard team of race leader Alberto Contador.
The only upset to the natural order of things occurred with 1.6 kilometres to go when a rider overcooked a left-hand bend causing a pile up to occur metres behind the lead-out trains.
Cavendish opened the sprint with 250 metres to the line and held off a late surge by Team Sky’ Davide Appollonio to celebrate victory by half a bike length as Alessando Petacchi (Lampre-ISD) finished third.
Deignan (Radioshack) finished 157th as part of the main field. His overall position remains unchanged and he enters the first of three back-to-back stages in the high mountains with a deficit of 49’08” to Contador.
The Spaniard is 59 seconds clear of Kanstantsin Sivtsov (HTC-Highroad) and 1’21” ahead of Vincenzo Nibali (Liquigas-Cannondale) in the overall standing and will hope to consolidate his lead before Monday’s second rest day.
2011 Giro d’Italia
Castefidardo – Ravenna, 171 kilometres
1.  Mark Cavendish (GBr) HTC-Highroad 4 hours, 17 minutes, 25 seconds
2.  Davide Appollonio (Ita) Sky Procycling
3.  Alessandro Petacchi (Ita) Lampre - ISD
4.  Roberto Ferrari (Ita) Androni Giocattoli
5.  Gerald Ciolek (Ger) Quickstep Cycling Team
6.  Fabio Sabatini (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale
7.  Manuel Belletti (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox
8.  Mirko Selvaggi (Ita) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team
9.  Mark Renshaw (Aus) HTC-Highroad
10.  Manuel Antonio Leal Cardoso (Por) Team RadioShack
157. Philip Deignan (Irl) Team Radioshack at same time
General classification after stage 12:
1.  Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Saxo Bank Sungard 44:15:16
2.  Kanstantsin Sivtsov (Blr) HTC-Highroad at 0:00:59
3.  Christophe Le Mevel (Fra) Team Garmin-Cervelo at 0:01:19
4.  Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale at 0:01:21
5.  Michele Scarponi (Ita) Lampre – ISD at 0:01:28
6.  David Arroyo Duran (Spa) Movistar Team at 0:01:37
7.  Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Pro Team Astana at 0:01:41
8.  Jose Rodolfo Serpa Perez (Col) Androni Giocattoli at 0:01:47
9.  Dario Cataldo (Ita) Quickstep Cycling Team at 0:02:21
10. Matteo Carrara (Ita) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team
90. Philip Deignan (Irl) Team Radioshack at 49 minutes, 08 seconds

News Archive

More News HeadlinesLatest

McCann best placed in Olympic road race

David McCann was the best placed Irish rider in...

Nicolas Roche almost pulled off an incredible...

Roche drops valuable time in GC battle

Nicolas Roche’s hopes of breaking back into the...

Roche drops valuable time in GC battle

Nicolas Roche’s hopes of breaking back into the...

Martin 7th on stage as Roche closes on Tour’s top ten

Dan Martin has taken seventh place on the...

Roche 13th in Tour GC amid reports of course sabotage

Nicolas Roche remains 13th overall in the Tour de...

Roche 14th as David Millar salvages Garmin-Sharp’s Tour

Nicolas Roche finished strongly on the longest...

Roche slips as Martin comes up short in break

Nicolas Roche has dropped out of the top ten at...

On form Nicolas Roche climbs to ninth in Tour de France GC

Nicolas Roche has climbed one place to ninth...

© McClure Media and PR