Add to Google

Brammeier 13th in Qatar GC as Boonen retains slender lead

Posted 06 February 2012

Matt Brammeier has climbed to 13th overall at the Tour of Qatar after helping his Omega Pharma-Quickstep team leader Tom Boonen to maintain his overall lead by the smallest of margins following’s today stage two team time trial.

The reigning national time trial champion proved to be a big engine in the Omega Pharma-Quickstep team as it came within seven seconds of toppling Garmin-Barracuda who were fastest around the 11.3 kilometre course in Lusail.

The American outfit posted a time of 12 minutes, 38 seconds to claim the stage with their time also being enough to elevate Tyler Farrar from fourth to second place overall. 

While the official results put Farrar on level time overall with Boonen the gap between the two sprinters is as narrow as three hundreths of a second.

Brammeier displayed his good early season from by driving the team all the way to finish, crossing the line as one of its remaining five riders after it burned through three of its riders during the early pace-setting.

The result also helped the double national champion to climb the GC and he will start tomorow’s 146.5 kilometre stage from Dukhan to Al Gharafa Stadium 13th overall  just 10 seconds off the race lead.

David McCann's RTS Racing team meanwhile, finished last of the sixteen teams 1 minute 34 seconds off the pace causing him to drop to 100th in the GC with an overall deficit of 1 minute 37 seconds.

(Ireland's David McCann (centre) with his RTS Racing Team)


Tour of Qatar

Stage 2: Team Time Trail, Lusail 11.3 kilometres

1. Garmin-Barracuda 00:12:38
2. Omega Pharma-Quickstep at 7 seconds
3. Team Sky at 9 seconds
4. Katusha
5. Liquigas-Cannondale at 13 seconds
6. Radioshack-Nissan at 14 seconds
7. GreenEDGE at 16 seconds
8. BMC
9. Lotto-Belisol at 17 seconds
10. Rabobank – same time.

General classification after stage 2:

1. Tom Boonen (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) 3:24:07
2. Tyler Farrar (Garmin-Barracuda) m.t.
3. Johan Vansummeren (Garmin-Barracuda) a 3 seconds
4. Ramunas Navardauskas (Garmin-Barracuda) m.t.
5. Thomas Dekker (Garmin-Barracuda) m.t.
6. Robert Hunter (Garmin-Barracuda) m.t.
7. Davide Appollonio (Sky) a 10 seconds
8. Francesco Chicchi (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) m.t.
9. Gert Steegmans (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) m.t.
10. Guillaume Van Kiersbulck (Omega Pharma-Quickstep m.t

13. Matt Brammeier (Irl) Omega Pharma-Quickstep
100. David McCann (Irl) RTS Racing at 1 minute, 37 seconds

News Archive

More News HeadlinesLatest

McCann best placed in Olympic road race

David McCann was the best placed Irish rider in...

Nicolas Roche almost pulled off an incredible...

Roche drops valuable time in GC battle

Nicolas Roche’s hopes of breaking back into the...

Roche drops valuable time in GC battle

Nicolas Roche’s hopes of breaking back into the...

Martin 7th on stage as Roche closes on Tour’s top ten

Dan Martin has taken seventh place on the...

Roche 13th in Tour GC amid reports of course sabotage

Nicolas Roche remains 13th overall in the Tour de...

Roche 14th as David Millar salvages Garmin-Sharp’s Tour

Nicolas Roche finished strongly on the longest...

Roche slips as Martin comes up short in break

Nicolas Roche has dropped out of the top ten at...

On form Nicolas Roche climbs to ninth in Tour de France GC

Nicolas Roche has climbed one place to ninth...

© McClure Media and PR